DIY, one room challenge, Projects, Tutorials

ORC Week Three: Concrete Fireplace DIY

In week three of the One Room Challenge we started the rebuild process of our concrete fireplace.

Here are the 4 parts to our fireplace wall:

  1. DIY shiplap wall
  2. Wooden mantle
  3. Concrete fireplace, and
  4. Wooden seat

This week we worked on the concrete part. It felt like the logical first step. It’s messiest. The one we know the least about, so there could be more trial and error. And, in our minds, works best as the first layer, in terms of rebuilding.

Before starting the actual build, I always draw a rough sketch of what I want it to look like. Sometimes it takes 3 or 4 drawings. Here’s where we landed.

This helps me visualize exactly what boards we need, so I can get accurate supplies and, in this case, cement backer board.

Materials

Cutting backer board

Y’all, this was a learning experience and definitely required some trial and error. Emphasis on error. But as it is with most, if not all diy, it isn’t always easy-peasy, cut and dry.

After much trial, we discovered that using the table saw (thanks father in love!) worked best for our board. Apparently the hardie backer board is one of the best, but also most difficult to cut.

We built out the top to help aesthetically. Then we could get accurate measurements. I wanted the front pieces to cover the built out pieces, so I built it accordingly, measuring as I went.

Then I got to cutting.

Attaching the boards to the wall was pretty easy. The wooden pillars made it a little more difficult, but with some extra elbow grease, we got it done!

{definitely took this pic for the gram 😆}

Let’s Rock! (Well, cement)

This is where my nerves kicked in, and the ‘new’ of the project allowed doubt to creep in. But I did it. I took it one step at a time, and I did hard things. Woot!

I followed the directions on the Ardex Feather Finish bag. Mixed up 2 parts powder to 1 part water.

Then I just started smearing the cement onto the cement board like I knew what I was doing. (I really didn’t though)

I had to mix up 3 separate batches for the first coat. I was working slower because it was my first time. And you have to use what you mix within about 15-20 minutes. After that time, it starts to harden up and becomes too hard to smooth on.

After one coat, I gotta say, I’m in love.

{this isn’t even fully dry}

What do you think? Would you ever put a concrete fireplace in your home? Do you feel the confidence to diy?

Next Week

My goal is to finish up this fireplace this upcoming week: I’ll be adding another layer or two of concrete, a mantle and wooden seat!

Follow along with other fabulous room makeovers here!

Leave a comment