one room challenge, Projects, Tutorials

ORC Week Five: Over Halfway to the Finish Line!

We have passed the halfway point in this one room challenge, and luckily I’m so excited to be more than halfway done!

This week was a big one! I finished the fireplace wall, and I’m so happy with how it turned out. We hung our budget friendly diy shiplap. {You can find the tutorial here.} I also finished the wooden seat using 1/4” sanded plywood.

What do you think friends?! We love it!

Sources:

What’s Next?

Now I can start working on the TV wall. As a reminder, here is the before and original mood board for my design:

Wood Feature

This past week, I spent some time at Home Depot trying to decide which boards to use for the wood accent wall. I’ve seen tutorials where they used strips of cut plywood, but I’m not sure I want to go that route. Cutting 6” strips (for shiplap) out of plywood is hard enough. I can’t imagine trying to make straight 1” strips. Plus our ceiling arches pretty high, and I’m not sure about stacking the boards and getting it to fit right.

So I found some options that I think may work really well. Which would you choose?

Paint

After a couple weeks with these random swatches painted on the wall, we made a decision! Can’t wait to show you next week!

{Behr paints from left to right: pastoral, billiard green, royal orchard}

TV Stand

If I have time, I really want to give our current tv stand a little facelift. If I’m being honest, I’d like to buy a new one, but I’m sure my hubby won’t like that idea too much. Hopefully I can bring it back to life with a little paint and some tlc!

85% Club

To help keep me accountable, I’m letting you all know my tendency to hang out in the 85% club when I do projects. For some reason the final steps are harder for me to complete. Are you like that too?

Here are the finishing touches I have left in order to complete the fireplace wall:

  • Hang curtains
  • Seal the wood on the mantle and the seat
  • Fix the under portion of the mantle so you can’t see the old mantle (remember, we built the new mantle to slide over the old one)

Let’s take a stroll

See where we started and how far we’ve come to this point!

Leave a comment